Druid's Summer Season 2021

We're thrilled to announce our 2021 summer season. Over the next few months, we'll present new work online, take to the national airwaves and return to Coole Park for outdoor performances.

The Seagull


'That’s my home. It was my mother’s home, too. I know every inch of this countryside. I know all the secrets of the lake.'

We're returning to Coole Park this August for a large-scale outdoor production of Thomas Kilroy's The Seagull (after Chekhov), directed by Garry Hynes.

Kilroy sets Chekhov's play in a large country house in the West of Ireland which makes Coole Park in County Galway the perfect backdrop for this new production.

Isobel Desmond (Eileen Walsh) and her son Constantine (Jack Gleeson) leave London to spend the summer at the family home in Ireland where they will battle artistic disappointments and unrequited love in this classic tragicomedy.

The cast also includes Druid Ensemble members Marie Mullen and Marty Rea, with Brian Doherty, Liam Heslin, Bosco Hogan, Bláithín MacGabhann, Agnes O’Casey and John Olohan.

Tickets, limited due to current restrictions, will go on sale on Monday 14 June at 10am.

A New Production of a Classic Radio Drama


We're taking to the national airwaves this July and, for the first time ever, partnering with RTÉ Radio on a new production of a classic radio drama starring Marie Mullen and directed by Garry Hynes.

We'll announce further information on this co-production soon so stay tuned.

Druid Debuts 2021

June - July

We're delighted to present our annual Druid Debuts, a series of online rehearsed readings of new plays.

Selected from almost 300 submissions, this year's Debuts are:
And Other Hellish Things by Shane Burke
Flicker by Róisín Coyle
Håber Undone by Catherine Cronin

Druid Debut tickets on sale now for €5 per reading or all 3 readings for €10. The readings will be streamed live online.

Coole Park Poetry Series 2021

May - July

As previously announced, the 2021 edition of the Coole Park Poetry Series will see 10 new poetry films premiere online over 10 weeks this summer.

In collaboration with the Adrian Brinkerhoff Poetry Foundation and curated by Colm Tóibín, the line-up of performers includes Andrew Bennett, Venetia Bowe, Brian Doherty, Clare Dunne, Jade Jordan, Seán McGinley, Aaron Monaghan, Marie Mullen, Rory Nolan, Marty Rea and Tommy Tiernan.